11 thoughts on “Selling yourself short

  1. You are so brave for sharing this with us! I’ve had my fair share of negative comments about my prices (or products) and I think you are absolutely right; if you love what you do then you should always get paid to do it, and not a couple of cents because it’s “just” handmade! 🙂
    xo,
    wink

  2. I think the negative is what stops me from selling at craft fairs. Plus I talk myself out of it by saying, who in the world is going to buy my stuff?. This is not to say that I haven’t sold purses, a few afghans, and a lot of Christmas trees, but that was through friends and relatives. I guess for me, I need more confidence. Plus, the area I live in is very economically depressed, ad we are. What to do personally.
    I really appreciate your advice. I think its very good and very sound business wise.

  3. Love the advice. I’m just getting started on a currently very small on-the-side crochet business, so I’m always looking for tips/hints and discussions about these kinds of things. Thanks! 🙂

  4. You are so right! I am in a similar place here in the the states. It is sooo hard to put a price on your “art”. I think the economy has something to do with the pricing right now too. I don’t have that much disposable income myself and often the luxuries (what we fit into) go first. I have worked out what items I make that take the least time and products and I can make the most profit from. I make a lot of these and those where I “lose” money I figure it evens out somewhat. I do refuse to be bullied about price though. It is our heart and soul that goes into making things. No wonder putting a price on it is hard. I’m still searching for that “target market” as where we live it is rather depressed as well. Let’s encourage each other here!

  5. Love your article, you make excellent points!
    I was commiserating about this with a fellow crafter a while back and what she said has stuck with me. I went something like this: When you walk into a dollar store or other low priced chain, you can feel the atmosphere, the karma, if you will. The merchandise is made by unhappy, underpaid workers in awful conditions and the imprint stays with their products, you can feel it when you walk into the store. Handcrafted items are made by someone who really wants to make this item, made with care and love. Made to be used/worn with pride, loved and enjoyed – not tossed in the trash in two weeks.
    Remembering her words help me price my work for appreciation rather than the quick sale.
    I did one summer of farmer’s markets and un-juried craft fairs. Never again. I found myself frantically making stuff that I hoped I could sell a few of, for a lower price, just to make money. Stuff I didn’t even like or enjoy making.

  6. Great post, very informative, thankyou. Do you have an Etsy store (or equivalent) where I can see your items? Those elephants are just gorgeous! Sorry if the link to store is obvious, I’m probably just missing it 😀

    • Thank you!
      No store at present. I’m currently working on getting that done. I will post the details of the store once I’m ready.
      I have some of my work on my Facebook page, if you want to have a look there 😉

Leave a Reply

